IOHE Structure

President's message

Since 2020, the priorities of higher education have shifted and refocused on the well-being of its academic communities. Global educational trends emphasize flexibility and breadth of educational offerings, the use of technology and alternative learning modalities, demographic transformations, and environmental sustainability. In the coming years, the IOHE will be faced with the challenge to continue to contribute to the creation of spaces for cooperation while adapting to a changing context.

The Strategic Plan presented here is the result of a reflection on the organization and these global trends and a broad consultation with the membership. We are convinced that the objectives presented here will enable the IOHE to strengthen its regional leadership, guided by its integrative character, and become the leading association for the internationalization of higher education in the Americas. I would like to thank the signatory members of the IOHE for their commitment to the design of this proposal and I invite all of you to work actively and collaboratively towards its realization.

—Dr. Óscar Garrido, Universidad de Los Lagos, Chile

Executive Director's message

While we were still going through the pandemic and the world of higher education was in turmoil, our members expressed their desire for the IOHE to be aligned with the international sustainable development agenda set for 2030. We have therefore embarked on a major consultation process led by our governing bodies and work teams, with the valuable collaboration of a 12-member Advisory Council from our nine regions and the input of more than 200 higher education institutions that responded to the call through surveys and regional meetings.

On behalf of all parties involved, I am proud to present the IOHE 2023-2030 Strategic Plan which is both the result of a reflection and analysis of our organizational past, combined with a projection towards innovative and diversified lines of work, always oriented towards the needs and priorities of our members. Our vision is clear: to strengthen IOHE’s relevance as the leading association for the internationalization of higher education in the Americas. Join us!

— Dr. David Julien, IOHE Executive director

IOHE Structure

The IOHE relies on a participative approach to attain its objectives. Member institutions, represented by its legal representative, together make up the General Assembly, the supreme decision-making body of the Organization.

The General Assembly participates in the election of the Board of Directors, its President as well as its Vice Presidents and ratifies the election of the Regional Councils. It designates the Executive Director, the Treasurer and the Legal Advisor.

The General Assembly identifies priorities, establishes annual fees and other questions of financial contribution, establishes the aims and adopts the decisions or useful recommendations for the effective management of the Organization.

The General Assembly meets once a year at a date and location decided by the Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors is the body responsible for managing the administrative affairs of the IOHE. It is comprised of 13 experienced members who typically sit at the head some of the largest universities in their respective countries.

The Board of Directors strives to maintain a balanced representation of public, private, cooperative and denominational universities from across the Americas.

Each of the nine IOHE regions is under the responsibility of a Regional Council, presided over by a Vice President who serves a renewable two-year term. They provide support for the President, the General-Secretariat, and the Executive Directors of IOHE programs, which together form the Executive Committee.

The Board meets twice a year, in addition to maintaining regular contact between meetings.

Currently, it is comprised of:

  • President: Oscar Garrido Alvarez, President, Universidad de Los Lagos, Chile
  • Executive Director: David Julien
  • Treasurer: Valérie Amiraux, Vice-Rector, Community and International Partnerships, Université de Montréal, Canada
  • Outgoing President: Allan Cahoon, ex-President, Royal Roads University, Canada
  • Regional Vice Presidents:
    • Andean Countries: Walter Mera Ortiz, President, Universidad Católica de Santiago de Guayaquil, Ecuador
    • Brazil:  Alfredo Gomes, President,  Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil
    • Canada:  Joy Johnson, President and Vice-Chancellor, Simon Fraser University, Canada
    • Caribbean: Ana E. Cucurella – Adorno, President, Caribbean University, Puerto Rico
    • Central America: Emmanuel Gonzalez Alvarado, President, Universidad Técnica Nacional, Costa Rica.
    • Colombia: Jose Leonardo Valencia Molano, National President, Fundación Universitaria del Area Andina, Colombia
    • Mexico: Christian Jorge Torres Ortiz Zermeño, President, Universidad de Colima, Mexico
    • Southern Cone: Guillermo Tamarit, President, Universidad Nacional del Noroeste de la Provincia de Buenos Aires, Argentina
    • United States: Federico Zaragoza, President, College of Southern Nevada, USA

The members of each region, the Counselors, and the respective Vice President comprise the Regional Assembly.

The Regional Council’s main functions are to support the best interests of their region within the context of IOHE by approving the Regional Annual Development Plan, electing the Vice President, the Deputy Vice President, and Regional Counselors, as well as to formulate proposals for regional initiatives that support the aims of the Organization.

It holds an ordinary meeting at least once a year and an extraordinary meeting upon petition by one third of its members, as requested by the President or by the IOHE Board of Directors.

Executive director: David Julien

Planning and development direction: Fernando Daniels

Academic direction: Leticia Jimenez

Institutional relations: Claudia Nunez del Arco

Communications: Ana Maria Gonzalez

eMOVIES: Aura María Monsalve

Accounting: Habimael Rodriguez


Subscribe to our newsletteremail

Subscribe to the newsletter


3744, Jean-Brillant, Suite 592
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
H3T 1P1
(+1) 514-343-6980